Southwest Native Nations Advisory Board

Arizona State Museum strives to develop and maintain strong and positive working relationships with Arizona's sovereign Native communities through the Southwest Native Nations Advisory Board (SWNNAB).

SWNNAB was organized in the late 1980s, initially to inform the development of the Paths of Life exhibition, one of the first in the country to involve extensive consultation with representatives of Native American communities. Today, SWNNAB includes up to two representatives from each of the 22 federally recognized tribes in Arizona. Its mission is to:

  • advise the Arizona State Museum regarding its mandated mission to manage historic resources, protect human remains, and comply with state and federal repatriation law;
  • partner with the Arizona State Museum in addressing issues related to state and federal historic preservation law; and
  • facilitate meaningful consultation and collaboration in the development of research projects, exhibits, and public education programs.


Edward A. Jolie, Ph.D., RPA
Clara Lee Tanner Associate Curator of Ethnology and Associate Professor of Anthropology
Arizona State Museum / University of Arizona
P.O. Box 210026
Tucson, AZ 85721-0026
(520) 621-6276



2023 Southwest Native nations advisory board  

Ak-Chin Indian Community
Elaine F. Peters, Director
Him-Dak Eco Museum & Archives
47685 N. EcoMuseum Road
Maricopa, AZ  85139

Carmen Narcia, Director
Ak-Chin Cultural Affairs
42507 W. Peters & Nall Road
Maricopa, AZ  85138

Navajo Nation
Manuelito Wheeler, Director
Navajo Nation Museum
PO Box 1840
Window Rock, AZ  86515

Richard Begay, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
PO Box 4950
Window Rock, AZ  85615

Cocopah Tribe
Sherry Cordova, Chair
Cocopah Tribe
14515 S. Veterans Drive
Somerton, AZ  85350

Pascua Yaqui Tribe
Daniel Vega, Director
Department of Language and Culture
7601 S. Camino Benem, Bldg. A
Tucson, AZ  85746

Karl Hoerig, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
7490 S. Camino de Oeste
Tucson, AZ  85757

Colorado River Indian Tribes
Ginger Scott, Acting Director
CRIT Museum and Cultural Resources
133 W. Riverside Dr.
Parker, AZ  85344

Pueblo of Zuni
Curtis Quam, Museum Technician/Cultural Educator
A:shiwi A:wan Museum and Heritage Center
Pueblo of Zuni
O2E Ojo Caliente  Road
PO Box 339
Zuni, NM  87327

Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation
Cultural Center and Museum
P.O. Box 17779
Fountain Hills, AZ  85269

Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community
Angela Garcia-Lewis, Cultural Preservation Compliance Supervisor
Cultural Preservation Program
10005 East Osborn Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ  85256

Shane Anton
Tribal Historic Preservation Office
10005 East Osborn Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ  85256

Fort Mojave Tribe
Charlotte Knox, Assistant Director
Ahamakav Cultural Society
P.O. Box 5990
Mohave Valley, AZ  86440

San Carlos Apache Tribe
Vernelda Grant, Director/NAGPRA Rep/THPO
Historic Preservation & Archaeology Dept.
PO Box 0
San Carlos, AZ  85550

Fort Yuma Quechan Indian Tribe
Manfred Scott, Acting Chair
Ernestine Noriega, Member

Culture Committee
PO Box 1899
Yuma, AZ  85366

San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe
San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe
PO Box 2950
Tuba City, AZ  86045

Gila River Indian Community
Darius Enos, Cultural Resource Specialist
Reylynne Williams, Cultural Resource Specialist

Tribal Historic Preservation Office
PO Box 2193
Sacaton, AZ  85147

Tohono O'odham Nation
Jefford Francisco, Cultural Affairs Specialist
Samuel Fayuant, Cultural Affairs Specialist

Cultural Affairs Office
PO Box 837
Sells, AZ  85634

David Tenario, Assistant Supervisor and Monitor Request
San Xavier District of the Tohono O'odham Nation
218 W. San Xavier Road
Tucson, AZ  85746

Havasupai Tribe
Havasupai Tribe
PO Box 10
Supai, AZ  86435

Tonto Apache Tribe


Hopi Tribe
Stewart Koyiyumptewa, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
Joel Nicholas, Archaeologist

Cultural Preservation Office
PO Box 123
Kykotsmovi, AZ  86039

White Mountain Apache Tribe
Mark Altaha, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
Ramon Riley, NAGPRA Rep

White Mountain Apache Tribe Cultural Center
PO Box 507
Fort Apache, AZ  85926


Hualapai Tribe
Martina Dawley, Acting Director
Office of Cultural Resources
PO Box 310
Peach Springs, AZ  86434

Yavapai-Apache Nation
Gertrude Smith, Yavapai Culture Director
Yavapai-Apache Nation Cultural Center
2400 W. Datsi St.
Camp Verde, AZ  86322

Kaibab Band of Paiute Indians
Ona Segundo, Chair
Kaibab Band of Paiute Indians
HC 65 Box 2
Fredonia, AZ  86022

Yavapai-Prescott Indian Tribe
Linda Ogo, Director
Cultural Resources
530 E. Merritt St.
Prescott, AZ  86301
928-445-8790, ext. 135